The Need

As the 21st century begins to unfold, it is clear that we live in a society in which science plays an increasingly significant role. Citizens and their leaders need to achieve a functional level of scientific literacy to deal with issues ranging from global climate change to stem cell research to viral pandemics. It is estimated that about one in four American adults meets a minimal standard of civic scientific literacy. This level of scientific literacy is insufficient to sustain a healthy democratic society or to assure rational consideration of major scientific issues.

Our Mission

The Chicago Council on Science and Technology’s mission is to enhance the public’s understanding and appreciation of science and technology and their impact on society.

In establishing the Chicago Council on Science and Technology in 2006, the founders sought to bring together Chicago’s scientific leaders – academic, corporate, government, museums, universities and national laboratories- to provide a forum for the discussion of current issues of scientific interest.

Dr. Alan Schriesheim, President of C2ST and Director Emeritus of Argonne National Laboratory, Dr. Jon Miller, Director of the International Center for the Advancement of Scientific Literacy at the University of Michigan and Dr. Paul Knappenberger, President of the Adler Planetarium – began discussing the need for a regional organization that could adopt a role in the science community.

Since September of 2007, C2ST has co-sponsored or produced over 170 programs, and partnered with over 100 regional and national organizations. C2ST is an anchor to catalyze a more robust marketplace for science and gain more visibility for Chicago as a center of innovation and technology.


  • Be a voice and advocate for the scientific community in the metropolitan Chicago area.
  • Enhance the public understanding and appreciation of science and technology (S and T) through public discussions of emerging and important S and T policy issues.
  • Provide opportunities for members of the scientific community to meet each other and develop a greater sense of identity.
  • Link academic, business, and public policy leaders to build consensus for science education, technology innovation, and robust knowledge-economy growth in Chicago and the Midwest.
  • Maintain a working relationship with the science journalism community in the metropolitan Chicago area, providing special briefings on selected emerging issues.
  • Attract new science, engineering and technology based industries to the Chicagoland area.

Board of Directors

Alan Schriesheim, President C2ST
Director Emeritus
Argonne National Laboratory

Bob Arthur
Magellan Corporation

Gerald Blazey
Vice President for Research & Innovation Partnerships
Northern Illinois University

Philip Cable
John A. Cable Foundation

Gastone G. Celesia, Ex-Officio Board Member
Professor Emeritus
Loyola University

Charles Cooper
General Manager, Illinois Accelerator Research Center
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

Holly Copeland
Director, Public Affairs & Corporate Social Responsibility
Horizon Pharma

Alan W. Cramb
Illinois Institute of Technology

Marten L. denBoer
DePaul University

Lance Grande, Board Representative
Program Committee Chair
Distinguished Service Curator
The Field Museum of Natural History

Mary J.C. Hendrix
Shepherd University, WV

Paul Kearns
Argonne National Laboratory

Charles Knapp
VP of Conservation and Research
John G. Shedd Aquarium

Bob Kriss
Mayer Brown LLP

Richard Lariviere
The Field Museum of Natural History

Ka Yee Lee
Vice Provost for Research
University of Chicago

Susan A. Martinis
Interim Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Walter Massey
School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Jon D. Miller, Co-Founder
Director International Center for the Advancement of Scientific Literacy
Institute for Social Research
University of Michigan

David Mosena
President & Chief Executive Officer
Museum of Science and Industry

Gregory M. Mueller
Chief Scientist
Chicago Botanic Garden

Lynn Narasimhan, Board Representative
Professor and Director, STEM Center
DePaul University

Norman Peterson, Board Representative 
Director, Government Relations
Argonne National Laboratory

Rob Scott
Vice President, Development and Chief Medical Officer

Thomas P. Shanley
Chief Research Officer
Stanley Manne Children’s Research Institute

Arch Shaw
President & CEO
Arch Investors Ltd

Kay Torshen
Torshen Capital Management, LLC

Sarah Tucker
ARCS Foundation, Inc., Illinois Chapter

Jessica Turner-Skoff
The Morton Arboretum

Maria Velissariou
Chief Science and Technology Officer
Institute of Food Technologists

Jay Walsh
Vice President of Research
Northwestern University

Ralph Wanger
RW Investments

Patricia Ward, Board Representative
Director, Science Exhibitions and Partnerships
Museum of Science and Industry


Auxiliary Board

Adam Arcus, President
Executive Director United Sciences of Chicago

Andie Asimes, Vice President
Research Associate Department of Cell and Molecular Physiology Loyola University Chicago

Mark Christian
Postdoctoral Appointee Argonne National Laboratory

Gillian Frackelton
Senior Special Projects Lead Uptake

Julia Haried
Co-Founder & Executive Director MakerGirl

Shyama Majumdar
Oncology Ventures Associate Polsky Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation, University of Chicago

Zuri McClelland
Support Virtual Lab Manager HappiLabs

Kathleen Slingerland
Program Lead, Scientific and Regulatory Affairs, Color Deployment Mars Wrigley Confectionery

Jessica Turner-Skoff
Treeologist The Morton Arboretum

C2ST Artist In Residence

Aaron Freeman
Comedian and Artist

C2ST Educator Fellow

Kori Milroy
Science Teacher, Skinner West Classical School

C2ST Staff

Katie Ahmed, MA

Katie Ahmed, MA

Communications and Special Event Associate
Cody Eskew, MS

Cody Eskew, MS

Manager of Operations
Mary Madden, MA

Mary Madden, MA

Program and Grant Coordinator
Alexandra Prokuda, PhD

Alexandra Prokuda, PhD

Director of Programs and Engagement